Sighting in the varizone scope

Crossbow Hunting

Moderators: Bill T, Excalibur Marketing Dude

Sighting in the varizone scope

Postby Amos » Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:13 pm

I know you can start by sighting in at 20 yards. But my question is where do you start with the dial on top of your scope (speed dial 200 to 350 fps)? Then once you are zeroed in, go to 40 yards. Then what?

Amos
Amos

Re: Sighting in the varizone scope

Postby petev » Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:25 pm

I am no expert here, I just got my outfit from Dan Miller with the varizone scope. He had it sighted in pretty close at 20 yards. That is the start point. Then when you move back to 30, you use the triangle just below the crosshair. The idea is if your arrow spead is set right, you should be sighted in correctly. Dan had my arrow spead just about right. It was about 305 fps on a Exocet....if I remember correctly. If you are shooting a little high, then you turn up the arrow speed a little, and the opposite if shooting low. After I adjusted, I checked both 20 and 30 yards and there were sighted in correctly.

Again, I could be wrong with this....but this was the technique that I used. Dan helped me with this.
Exocet 200
Hoyt Alpha Max 35
petev

Postby vixenmaster » Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:35 pm

Sight yer 20 yds with X-hair. Speed ring depends on CB you have. Example E'cet 200 with stock string & 400 gr arrows about 305 area on dial 5 gr = 1 fps
Kong Strong Fast n Deadly 405

Marie Laveau Matrix 355, 361 fps

Banshee Mission MXB320 329 fps

vixenmasters strings
Spitfire BH's & others
vixenmaster

Postby gerald strine » Sun Jan 24, 2010 7:16 pm

Take a guess at your speed using the arrow selection guide in the owners manual then get it zeroed at 20 yards. now shoot a 40 / 50 yard group if you shoot hi turn the speed dial to a faster setting if you shoot low turn the speed to a slower setting until you get bulls eyes now you are Dialed in at your speed .