shooting from a tree stand

Crossbow Hunting

Moderators: Bill T, Excalibur Marketing Dude

shooting from a tree stand

Postby jacktar » Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:20 pm

Although I have hunted with a vertical bow from the ground and a tree stand I'm still kinda new to the X-bow and have really only been on the ground with it. I was wondering If anyone had any input on point of aim from about 12' to 16' up, if I should expect a major difference lets say on a target that's 20 yds from the base of the tree. I know practice is the only sure way to tell but would like to know a little in advance. I'm shooting an exocet 200 2216 alum and 150gr. bolt cutters.
jacktar

Re: shooting from a tree stand

Postby bstout » Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:23 am

It's best to practice from your tree stand before hunting from it.

Especially on the straight down shots. When shooting straight down (or straight up) gravity has very little effect on your arrow.

Your 5 yard pin also becomes your 50 yard pin when shooting straight up or straight down (no trajectory).

These are the extremes.

When shooting at all other angles the effects become less.

For example shooting at a deer that is 25 yards away while you're 15 feet off the ground will be almost the same as if you were standing on the ground. A deer standing directly under your stand, you will have to aim low if using a single pin sight system.

I practice every shot I can possibly get from each tree stand every year and it's always an eye opener/reminder.
bstout

Postby ninepointer » Fri Aug 06, 2010 10:27 am

bstout wrote:It's best to practice from your tree stand before hunting from it.

Especially on the straight down shots. When shooting straight down (or straight up) gravity has very little effect on your arrow.

Your 5 yard pin also becomes your 50 yard pin when shooting straight up or straight down (no trajectory).

These are the extremes.

When shooting at all other angles the effects become less.