How long can I leave my Xbow drawn?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Boltshooter

How long can I leave my Xbow drawn?

Post by Boltshooter »

I am just getting into crossbow shooting. I will be ordering my exomax in about a week, and have a few general questions I haven't seen adressed on this forum. :D

#1-How long can I leave my crossbow drawn(cocked)? A full day of hunting, or only a few minutes while stalking a deer?

#2-What are the chances of a dry fire causing limb damage (well, I have seen this one adressed, but still not quite sure what to expect)?

#3-I have constantly heard that crossbows are not as flat shooting as compound bows. How can this be possible? The fastest compounds get IBO speeds of about 315, using a 350 grain arrow, while the exomax gets ABOUT 350 fps with the same weight arrow. (I read the thread where the max was tested with a chronograph. You guys take this pretty seriously! :wink: .)

I've been keeping tabs on this forum ever since I became interested in crossbows. You guys really know your stuff. I think this forum one of the things that makes excalibur crossbows the best out there. :D
PS: I'm new to internet forums, so my post format may be a little messed up to start with. :oops:
"BORDERS, LANGUAGE, AND CULTURE"
TYE

Post by TYE »

Although I can't answer you questions... I'd just like to welcome you to the forums :)
pdislow

Post by pdislow »

welcome
i dry fired once and damaged/replaced limbs once so in my case it was a 100% chance.
thanks philip
A.W

Post by A.W »

Welcome.

I've had my bow cocked all day...no probs.

Don't leave your bow strung in your car in a hot day though.
[img]http://photobucket.com/albums/b38/allan_w_/th_tinybuck3hj1.gif[/img]

Exocet your options and exCalibur8 your sights.
Boltshooter

Post by Boltshooter »

Thanks tye and pdislow. . . .I guess I'll just have to be extra carefull about dry fires. By the way, Excal bows are made close to 100% in Ontario, right?
A.W

Post by A.W »