New to cross bows...looking for advice

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

rmhaack

New to cross bows...looking for advice

Post by rmhaack »

I am new to cross bows. I am looking to buy my first one and am just looking for any advice or tips from anyone. I am only going to be hunting whitetail deer with it. I was just wondering what sort of newbie advice people had for me. From what I have read, it looks like the phoenix or the exocet would be a good choice. Just wondering what I might look for as far as the energy they put out, the speed, draw length, etc. Thanks in advance.
rmhaack

Post by rmhaack »

Just to add, I would like to be able to take long yardage shots as well. Thanks.
wabi

Post by wabi »

For whitetails either the Phoenix or Exocet 200 has more than enough energy. As for long range, forget it with a crossbow. They have no range advantages over any other type of archery equipment. 30 yards is about my personal maximum range for deer. The problem isn't accuracy, the problem is that deer are nervous animals and react to the noise of the shot. I frequently see 40 yards listed as maximum crossbow range, but that's pushing it too far in my opinion.
wabi
diesel

Post by diesel »

Just like Wabi said. Get an Excalibur. As for long shots get a 30 06, 270, 7mm. Mag. But don't use a crossbow.
rmhaack

Post by rmhaack »

I was just wondering how much faster a crossbow such as the exocet or phoenix shoots then a regular compund bow. I am assuming this is part of the reason why they are illegal in some areas for bow hunting. They shoot faster and are easier to hunt with then a regular compound bow was my logic behind them being illegal in areas for archery season. Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks.
rmhaack

Post by rmhaack »

Yah, I am not lousy at archery. I would consider myself to be a decent shot. I was just wondering the benefits/drawbacks to a crossbow compared to a compund bow.
rmhaack

Post by rmhaack »