Mechanicals and Spine Shots?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

ecoaster

Mechanicals and Spine Shots?

Post by ecoaster »

Chris4570 and I went out to R.J.s place today for a "meet and greet", and all the talk about shot scenerios and placements got me thinking.

I know a spine shot is not the ideal, but sometimes it is the only one presented. I have been thinking of trying out the NAP Spitfires, but do not want to shoot them it they will not put a deer down with a shot to the spine. It would be a last resort shot if none other was presented.

Anyone have any experience with this?

R.J. thanks again for the hospitality and showing us around your neck of the woods.
I hunt for memories, the meat's a bonus!
devilsedge

Post by devilsedge »

I have been shoting Nap Spitfires 100gr for the last 5 years (same 3 heads) I have had one spine shot ( I missed judged the distance) the deer went straight down and I finished him off with a well placed next shot in seconds. When I retreved the first bolt the only thing that was wrong with the head was 2 off the blades were bent.

I have taken 7 deer with my spitfires and have never had to trail a deer more that 70 yards. I have just purchased my second set of 3 heads for this year as my last 3 are starting to where out so they are now my practice heads.

The thing I like about the spitfire is there are no "O" rings to hold it together and I just change the blades each year and they are ready to go.
shoot straight stay late.
R.J.

Post by R.J. »

Steve : No problem ... glad you guys could make it ... Chris's custom crossbow stand has made a beauty addition to my art collection !

Great swapping hunting stories ... really gets the blood pumping ... can hardly wait until Oct 1st !

As for spine shots ... not ideal , but with the precision accuracy of the Excalibur set ups , makes them an option when the time comes !

I've taken 6 deer with spine shots , and all but 1 have dropped in their tracks !