New Exomax! ... but right stuff kit doesn't match up

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Hippie

New Exomax! ... but right stuff kit doesn't match up

Post by Hippie »

Hey there everybody, I'm new to crossbow hunting, and after a little research I got sold on Excalibur pretty quick. I usually go crazy over new projects and this has been no different, I think I've had my bow for a week and I'm probably 150 shots in. I shoot from ALL angles through the rocks and trees as I live on the side of a mountain (surprised by LESS arrow drop on uphill shots) and I'm good to go for 4" groups from just about anywhere (out to 60) now. Or thats what I thought untill setting up my wasp broadheads that are supposed to match the trajectory of the target points. I went from seriously confident to not even wanting to hunt with this in just a couple hours! Forget 4 inches... I'm out by 12 and not always in the same direction!
Has any one else experienced and fixed this situation?
I'm loving the Exomax but it's the broadheads that count!
Thanks for any input... Jay
Fox

Post by Fox »

You need to setup your bow with what you will be hunting woth first off. I know people say that the broadheads shoot the same as the field points but I have never seen any that do. I have an Exomax and I would not be shooting out to 50+ yards on game but on the range it is awesome. I am not sure what is going on with your bow as I have to remove the first arrow or aim for a different spot on the target so I don't split the arrows. One thing you need to remember with the crossbow is the follow through or lack there of, if you tend to move the bow with your shot it will change the arrow flight, just like a gun but you notice it more because of the slow speed of the arrow. Take your bow out and sight in with the broadhead then practise and I am sure you will see the same results.

Good luck
grappledad

Post by grappledad »