Serious Question...Compound and Recurve

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

PRB

Serious Question...Compound and Recurve

Post by PRB »

What is the advantages of a compound crossbow over a recurve limb crossbow ?
This question is for my personal benefit only.
First off Im not trying to disrespect anyones choice of bow. Also I know there are some of you on here that own Excalibur crossbows but also own a compound crossbow and like it just as much if not more.
Please no bashing :evil:
Seriously though I know one advantage is that the compound bows are more compact. I believe this is some advantage when walking through the thick woods ect...I dont do that so Im not experienced with that.
I also know some crossbows are somewhat quieter than others but are still loud enough for a deer to hear. So thats not a factor for me.
Are some of the compounds made with "let off" thus causing easier wear on the string and serving ? For me its also not if the manufacturer does or does not implement a dryfire mechanism.
So other than being more compact and the other things Ive mentioned then what are the advantages ?
Sorry if the answer is not obvious for me but the question is serious and not a competition of who's is better or not. Im also asking becuase I was asked this question and I was not really sure of the answer other than what I mentioned above and told the guy that I would try and find out the pros and cons.
Thanks
Life Is Too Short !!! Live For The Moment !!!
xeon

Post by xeon »

Im thinking that it would be in most everyones interest to make a comparison chart and make it a page on the main excalibur website. I know when I was purchasing a crossbow, I was having a ton of mixed feelings on the Horton or Excalibur. I didnt choose the Horton because I put my finger above the string, and I was pissed off at it. Otherwise, Id still be thinking. And the Horton has a gay stock that you cant grip. The main points I put in !...!

Recurve ADV:
-Simple