Ray lost some land, now so did I

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

crazyfarmer

Ray lost some land, now so did I

Post by crazyfarmer »

RayD posted that he had just lost some land to guys paying more cash.. well I called a landowner that I had been hunting for 8 years(farm the land also LOL) and she told me that the local hunt club might be renting the land to deer hunt this year. I was the one hunting the track and was actaully doing a great job of letting small bucks grow into shooters. Now the club that shoots everything with legs is going to rent the land. Not that it matters, but its sad to see hunting is becoming a money thing. If one person pays one landowner money to hunt land, then the others want money also for you to hunt their land :roll:

I know the club and they want the land since I kill a few good bucks their every season... what they dont know is that its big bucks there because the small ones actaully can grow. They must think bucks are born 12pointers and etc LOL

so add me to the lost land to more money list :oops:
kev

Post by kev »

It's mostly Duck and Goose hunters around me paying. I lost a few places where I varmint hunt to them. Both places had big ponds. The one farmer told me he get's $5.00 acre lease, 465 acres total. These guy's don't hunt anything but Duck's and Geese and nobody else is allowed any hunting.

Me and another guy have been paying $250.00 ($125.00 ea.) a year to bowhunt for the last 4 years. About 250 acres in an Urban zone. I don't know how much the Duck/Goose/Dove hunters pay the owner it's been the same 3 guy's since I've hunted there. I figure someone will eventually up the price and I'll be looking for another spot.

I figure in another 10 years everyone will be paying. I don't blame the farmers and I'd do the same. The game club I belong to does'nt give them any money, just a couple of big picnics with door prizes.
raydaughety

Post by raydaughety »