Probably missed the chance of a lifetime!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Iamcdneh

Probably missed the chance of a lifetime!

Post by Iamcdneh »

So I'm by no means a pro when it comes to bow hunting! I take my time, try and learn all the no no's etc, but in the end I like to get in my stand and just hope to see deer. I have shot only 2 with a crossbow, my current exocet.

Anyway I've been doing a lot of reading lately and more and more guys talk about the lunar phases etc and how accurate they are. so with a little time to spare yesterday I decided to take a look at what my area was supposed to be like for deer activity. The morning was supposed to be excellent but I had already missed that time slot. From 2pm to 4 pm also showed good deer activity so I headed to the bush!

I have 3 stands in this particular area which can be a good thing but can also be a pain to decide where to go. This one stand where my uncle had been hunting out of recently had had a lot of activity with does around so I decided to go there.

I had just got up in my stand and was about to pull my mask over my head when out of the corner of my eye I see the biggest horse of a deer I have ever laid eyes on. He was MASSIVE no BS My heart immediately started to race, I tried a quick bleat to get his attention in my direction but no luck, he was obviously on the trail of something because he wasnt sticking around. He was 100 yds away from me and was out of sight in 60 seconds.
To make matters worse if I had gone to my other stand I'm 90 percent sure I would have had about a 35 yd shot at him! Which as long as I could have kept that bow steady would have been a kill shot for sure. Kinda sad and the quest for this years tag to be filled continues. Hopefully I can at least get one more glimpse of him this weekend.
[img]http://ca.geocities.com/petergward/deer31.gif[/img]
wabi

Post by wabi »