New member with a few questions

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Sitkaspruce

New member with a few questions

Post by Sitkaspruce »

Hi Everyone

I live in BC on Vancouver Island. I work in the forest Industry and guide moose, bear and goat hunters in the fall. I primarily hunt deer and moose with the odd big bear. I do not hunt from a tree stand, I enjoy still hunting and spot and stalk.

I have Essential Tremour, a disorder that causes uncontrolled tremours in my body. Right now it is in my arms, hands and shoulders, more in the left than the right. It has caused me to give up shooting archery w/ a compound. I am now looking at a getting a crossbow but have a few questions.

I shoot a rifle no problem, but mostly with the aid of a bi-pod or a rest (tree, stump etc.) Also, I do not have access to a shop that carries crossbows, they are 4 hours away, so I have not held to many off them.

How is the balance of a crossbow? More weight forward or towards the butt? Can you change the balance?
Can you still hunt with them and shoot off a stump or tree?
How about mounting a bi-pod?
How difficult is it to still hunt with a cross bow? Are they primarily for stand hunting?
I am looking at a Phoenix as it seems the best for ease of use and power. Is it strong enough for the big black bears here on the Island or moose?

Sorry for all the questions. I sold my Hoyt V-Tec and have some $ for a cross-bow that is burning a hole in my pockets :D . My wife is rolling her eyes as she says I already have too much hunting "stuff" :? :?: :roll:

Cheers

SS
Mike P

Post by Mike P »

Hello Sitkaspruce

The first thing you will learn at this forum is you never have to say your sorry for asking a question.

The second thing you will learn is what a great bunch of people inhabit this forum and how knowledgeable they are regarding crossbows.

And the third thing you will find out in short order is how willing these people are to share their knowledge.