string stretch and STS questions

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

liaf

string stretch and STS questions

Post by liaf »

I am a newbie with x-bows therefore I have some questions. last week my original servings broke on my phoenix(app 200 shots) so I put on the spare xcel string that came with the right stuff package. At that time it was at the highbrace mark, I did not shoot it for a week and when I looked at it today it was halfway between the 2 marks. I decided that it needed to be twisted so i did it and it went back to the high mark. I then put on the new STS which I had bought and went to shoot the bow. i found out that the bow was shooting app 1.5 inches low at 10 yards so i adjusted it. I then went out to 20 yards and it appearred to be dead on. Is it normal that a string will stretch over a weeks time w/o being shot? Next observation was the left sts is not "flush' with the riser but the rt one is "flush" with the riser. By this I mean when installed I can pass my fingernail between the left STS and riser whereas the rt one is solidly against the riser. Has anyone noticed this on their STS. I can say one thing the STS allows me to see the arrows hit the target and I no longer wear ear plugs when shooting my phoenix so it does cut down on vibration and noise. I have a BOO string w/ cat whiskers on order and I am hoping that the noise/vibration will decrease even more. I have to admit that i am starting to realize that its near impossible to quiet an xbow down to the same level of a compound bow. Any input positive or negative is appreciated. pete
Boo

Post by Boo »

You are right, it will never be as quiet as a compound. The crossbow is very inefficient with it's energy. Much of the excess energy is converted into noise.