Help deciding

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Mike4725

Help deciding

Post by Mike4725 »

Hello everyone I am new to the site and wanted first to say hello. Second I am stuck trying to decide which xbow to buy. I will be hunting deer and bear. I have been on the site checking things out but still being a newbie at big game hunting don't know what to do. thanks for the input.

Mike
mikej

Post by mikej »

welcome to the forum. its a matter of opinion i like the phoenix i'm sure others have other opinions
N8tr Boy

Post by N8tr Boy »

Welcome Mike. Great site for info and "family" experience in sharing and no question is a stupid question. I just purchased a Exomax from a forum member a few days ago , have used one in the spring gobbler season and enjoy it very much. Lots of "power" uh,uh. ( home improvements show) I am new to the scene as well. Haven't hunted for 10 years until this spring and many changes occurred. But the itch is still there. Good Luck.
N8tr Boy
Exomax
GT II Lazer arrows
125gr expandables
White Tiger 2" Blazer vanes
Chartruese Custom Boo string
Stricknine Expandables
Dabbling with Trad 55#
Mathews Q2 60-70#
Beman arrows
Mike4725

Post by Mike4725 »

That is fast responce the two Xbows you guys at talking about at the two I am stuck on.
mikej

Post by mikej »

both are great bows the exomax has more speed and energy which you may want for bear but with the way my phoenix shoots i wouldn't hesitate to take it bear hunting either
Bluefish024

Post by Bluefish024 »

Part of the newbie club also.. But from what I have read for bear definatley one of the higher FPS CB's .. Do some digging there was a recent thread on broadhead selection for bear.. I have shot Horton Hnter compound and a couple 10 point compounds very nice Xbows but I am so glad I read, read and read some more and went with the Excal's we have now... Whats the owner of Excal say, "keep it simple stupid" Awesome advise..
Phoenix for Mrs/ Exocet 200 for me