New Member with questions

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

VA Bigbore

New Member with questions

Post by VA Bigbore »

Hello All. I have been reading over some of the threads here while waiting to be approved for the forum. I have a Phoenix model Excalibur. I have been hunting with it for three years now. This year is the first time I really got serious though. I just ordered an Excalibur scope mount and a Vari-zone scope, so I hope to get it all set up and ready to go with the new setup very soon.

What are the members thoughts on the Vari-zone scope? Any pointers or anything that would be helpful? I have been using the factory peep-site setup, without much success. I have killed one deer with my crossbow, but I have missed several more. I continuously seem to over shoot them! The sights are spot on for the target, but I miss high at deer. Probably misguess at the yardage..........but thats bow hunting. Id rather miss high than make a bad shot and wound. I am hoping that the scope setup will help give me the confidence I need. I have no difficulty filling my tags with my rifle, so maybe the scope will help me. I also ordered the range finder mount for the scope, so that should take the guesswork out of a lot of my shots.

Last question I have is about bowstrings. I keep reading here about Boo's Bowstrings....................Who is this fella and how do I contact him? I have done searches for his company and have found nothing. Can someone please asssit with contacting Boo? I am very new to this archery thing. I used to shoot competition compound bow when I was in high school, but the crossbow is a whole new deal for me. Any and all insights and help is appreciated.

VA Bigbore
Normous

Post by Normous »