corned venison recipe

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

cabinfever

corned venison recipe

Post by cabinfever »

I thought I would share a recipe I have been making this for 3 years now. Everyone that tries it loves it. The recipe is for a 2-3 pound roast.
In a pot 2 quarts water, 1/2 cup canning/pickling salt, 1/2 cup tenderizing salt, 3tbls sugar, 2tbls mixed pickling spice, 2 bay leaves, 1/2tsp coriander, 8 whole black peppercorns, 3 garlic cloves peeled and minced. Bring all ingredients except roast to a boil (the house will smell great) remove from heat and allow it to cool. Put the roast in a large ziplock bag pour the liquid brine in the bag shake it to mix it up put it in the fridge for 5 days shake the bag twice a day. After 5 days rinse the roast put it in a pot of water and simmer until cooked to your desired state. A crock pot works good also. Makes a great reuben.
exocet 200
grounponder
lumizone
mathews switchback
high country extreme
fogducker

Post by fogducker »

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm reubens panfried :D with sauerkraut
if you dont stand behind our troops.
please feel free to stand in front of them
ecoaster

Post by ecoaster »

Sounds tasty!!!! We just finished a feed of canned moose that one of my Newfie workers brought back from his home. Tender!!!
I hunt for memories, the meat's a bonus!
Grizzly Adam

Post by Grizzly Adam »

I corned a whole deer ham this past fall, with a recipe virtually identical to the one you've offered. Only difference was that I used a pressure cooker to prepare mine after the brining. Pressure cookers make for a more tender final product, as a general rule.

Mine had a wonderful flavor, but I must say that it was VERY salty ... saltier than I personally like. It wasn't bad, it was just too salty for me. Next time I do it, I'm gonna cut back on the salt, since there's no need to do it for preservation.

I encourage everyone to try corning venison too! :D
Grizz
wabi

Post by wabi »