Some questions about Beagles..

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Pydpiper

Some questions about Beagles..

Post by Pydpiper »

With some Beagle pups coming around soon I am considering one for my family as a pet, to fill the void of our missing dog of 12 years.
I have some questions for the experienced..
I hear they are runners, can they be trained to stick around in a yard with people present? I have an acre of yard, half of it is fenced in.
As a dog that likes to take to a trail and run (I like that idea), can he run a trail while on a leash? I mean, if bunny hunting, can the dog be leashed or does it have to be released to do it's work?

It seems this breed is either loved or hated, and for a hunting buddy I think one would work out, but I don't want to burden my family with a pet that needs constant supervision. I am all for training a dog and spending a lot of time with it, but we are spoiled when it comes to pets and I want to make sure that a Beagle is going to be right for us.
I could really use some real life experiences to help with this decision.
Last edited by Pydpiper on Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
If you are not willing to learn, nobody can help you, if you are willing, nobody can stop you.
A bowhunter with a passion for shooting firearms.
WMU 91
Boo string
Grizzly-Papa

Post by Grizzly-Papa »

Life is too short to spend it indoors!
Houndsman

Post by Houndsman »