Quess what I just bought

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Undertaker

Quess what I just bought

Post by Undertaker »

Hello- I just bought an Excalibur, and have been hanging out at the post office waiting for it to appear. I see your forum has been active for a long time, and to be sure, serves the brand well. Grateful I am, to have the opportunity to select such a fine bow. Figure I'll pull up my chair and stay a while.

A little about me. I started shooting when my father gave me a Fred Bear recurve bow, 45lb I believe. He also gave me a book written by Fred Bear to go along with it, as he knew nothing about archery. My mother complained that I was too young, but Dad knew better. I mastered that bow, cedar arrows and all. I drew down on a doe with it once, but....the confidence factor wasn't what I thought it would be, and I let her pass. Still see the creek where she was.

Grew up, found girls and took a break from archery. Moved to Florida 13 years ago, while I was still young enough (35) to enjoy Florida. Discovered that Fred Bear, the hero of my youth, had a museum in town, Gainesville. Also found out that my boss handled Fred's funeral services. But was totally devastated to learn that if I had arrived earlier, that Fred would have taken me on a tour personally. That hurt bad.

Fred was a legend and did more for bow hunting than anyone else I know of. I read that book so many years ago, and then I bought the book his hunting partner wrote- "Trailing a Bear". They had a life. BTW- Fred's dad's name was Harry Bear. Too cool.