Ground hunting vs. Treestand (deer)

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

FullDRAW

Ground hunting vs. Treestand (deer)

Post by FullDRAW »

Just curious how much of each?

I hunt less than 5% from ground and over 95% in a treestand.
There's a place for all of God's Creatures...............right next to the mashed potatos! :)
groundpounder

Post by groundpounder »

95% ground (hince groundpounder) and the other 5% treestand. I was a hunter safety instructor for several years and always received all of Georgias hunting accident reports. Read WAY too many unfortunate tree stand related accidents. Alot of them made you cringe just to read them. I know there are several on the forum that have their own stories.
Why ride when you can walk!
rt2bowhunter

Post by rt2bowhunter »

I was 100% from a tree. but now im 95% ground. What turned me was where i was hunting.I started hunting a place in Ohio that is thick very few trees you could climb. So to hunt where the deer were i had to ground hunt. That lead me to getting a Ghillie suit. Its like i found a new sport its harder to ground hunt but man is it ever fun.
FullDRAW

Post by FullDRAW »

groundpounder wrote:95% ground (hince groundpounder) and the other 5% treestand. I was a hunter safety instructor for several years and always received all of Georgias hunting accident reports. Read WAY too many unfortunate tree stand related accidents. Alot of them made you cringe just to read them. I know there are several on the forum that have their own stories.
I hear ya! That less than 5% is when I forget my safety harness! :wink:
There's a place for all of God's Creatures...............right next to the mashed potatos! :)
Grizzly Adam

Post by Grizzly Adam »

Ground, mostly ... some box blind and ladder stand. :D
Grizz
Big58cal

Post by Big58cal »