To the Compound Shooters!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

huntman

To the Compound Shooters!

Post by huntman »

Hey guys I am new to the compound world with the purchase of my Parker Blackhawk XP late last bow season. I have been practicing with it and truly enjoy shooting a compound.
When i purchased it I was as "green" as they come to compounds and the gent that sold it to me put a "Movable pin sight" (one singal pin that the shooter has to adjust the yardage). I am not a big fan of this I think it is not practical for hunting. I want someones reccomendation on the best "Fixed Pin Sight" with four or five pins. I have looked at the Tru Glu but there are so many, anyone have any advise?
bkisel

Post by bkisel »

Wow, the market is flooded with all kinds of great sights fixed pin or otherwise. I personally would not recommend more than 3 pins for hunting; you could get a sight with more and then drop the bottom pins come hunting season. I missed a deer because I had a green pin for both 20 yards and 50 yards. I suggest you go to Cabela's online catalog and check out the many sights available and read the reviews.

Now with all the above having been said I think that some great arguments can be made for using a single pin for hunting the Northeast woods. On a fast bow you could maybe set the one pin for 25 yards and do well shooting 0-35 yards. I suggest you give your single adjustable pin sight a chance, adjust it for 25 yards and see how you shoot with it a varying hunting distances.

Good luck...
Boo

Post by Boo »

I use only use two pins. With the faster bows you have pins so close that they clutter your sight picture.
Some people just like stepping on rakes
munch

Post by munch »

i use 3 pins but 90% of all the deer i shoot are shot with my 20yard pin i like vertical pins over horizontal (trophy ridge)
PUT IT IN THE BAG MARLIN ( #$%^ you it"ll bite)
BAD NEWS TRAVELS FAST
[email protected]
munchmounts channel utube
munchmounts facebook