need some help for serving material

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

cbruce

need some help for serving material

Post by cbruce »

My center serving on my phoenix just broke apart after one year. I've searched the forum for the tips to do the serving, and wish to do it myself. But I have never done it before, I don't wish to break the bank to buy a hole spool of serving material and find out later I can't do it right and waste it. I was wondering if anybody here would kindly send me about 5ft of the serving material such as halo or anything solid, so I can try to do it. I really appreciated your kindness! I have a serving tool for my compound bow, but never use it before.
awshucks

Post by awshucks »

I would if I had some. I gave my serving stuff to a buddy once I went w/ Boo strings.

Here's a pic of a cheap serving jig that was part of the deal. You'll want one similar.

It took me about a half hour to serve my 1st string and after doing a few, it's a 10 minute job.

"Eze 18:21"
bluemoon

Post by bluemoon »

PM me your address & I can get you some 0.026" Angel Majesty serving. Can't tell you if it's as good as Halo, but it's held up very, very well for me so far on an Ibex (Phoenix's sister).

Let me know if you need a spool to put it on for your serving tool. Think I have one that's nearly empty, & will wrap it around that.

If you're in a hurry to get it done before hunting season, you can send me the string & I'll serve it for you.
vaguru

Post by vaguru »

Where in Va are you? I'd be willing to serve your string for you, so you can see how it's done.
Gold Tip Pro Staff
Bohning Pro Staff
cbruce

Post by cbruce »

Thanks for all your help! bluemoon is going to get me some serving material. I will try to make a jig like that then I am ready to go. I will use my compound before get my phoenix ready, so time is enough for me.