Is this thing on?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

skyhunter

Is this thing on?

Post by skyhunter »

I put on the STS that I got yesterday and shot the new Pheonix today. Am I missing something, like an on / off switch to activate the STS .

Seriously, the bow was still making quite a clunk. Maybe some string twang / vibration was reduced but that clunk is still there. I am new to crossbows, but for me the noise was still very loud after shooting with the STS.

For you guys that have tried the suppression systems, have you found the recoil noise reduced somewhat. I'm not sure there is much of a difference.
bojangles

Post by bojangles »

I have one on my phoenix and it turns the ''crack'' noise into more of a dull thump and less ''twangy''...I noticed the difference on the first shot with it on...also is helps in case of dry fire..make sure the string is either just touching or almost touching the bumpers on the sts....
groundpounder

Post by groundpounder »

I can "feel" the difference with the shot. Before I added the STS I could feel the sharp vibration like when you hold an aluminum bat the wrong way and hit a baseball. Not quite to that extreme but to what I am trying to explain. Sound is somewhat reduced also but definitely not eliminated. Be sure that you have a slight gap between your string and your pads too.
Why ride when you can walk!
one shot scott

Post by one shot scott »

I have two excaliburs. My y25 has the NGSS(like a sts) with a stock excal string, and my equinox has the sts and a Boo string with whiskers on it. The Y25 is much louder than my equinox. But both are quieter than without. I think the sts may help in the event of a dryfire, so that is reason enough for me to have one.
*thumbhole vixen*original relayer*y25relayer*matrix380-
Undertaker

Post by Undertaker »