Strictly Horizontal!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

GaryDowdy

Strictly Horizontal!

Post by GaryDowdy »

I've been an archer most of my life. I started out in the late 70"s as a young boy with a recurve. In the early 80's -when compounds were legalized- My father bought me a Ben Pearson Bushmaster.

I've been an outdoor writer for the past 8 years and primarily write about archery and bowhunting. I wrote a review and a how-to article a few years back featuring an Excalibur Exomag; much to the dismay of some of my fellow bowhunters. Since then I've been tossed between my Hoyt and the Exomag. Which one to take out this trip? The more I study new gear and make recommendations I realize that crossbows not offer more simplicity than the top-tier modern compound bow. A top-tier Excalibur with accessories cost less than a high-end Hoyt or Mathews. I also like hunting the dead of winter without worrying about my heavy clothing contacting my bowstring, either. I shoot a compound bow as accurately as I do my crossbow, but can get multiple shots vertically- What has the advantage?

In my opinion, the crossbow offers greater challenge than a compound, cost less, and is much more traditional in design than modern compounds. Therefore, I cannot live a lie! I will follow my desires and go completely to the dark-side of crossbows!

Happy Hunt'n

Gary D. Dowdy
lscha

Post by lscha »

WELCOME Gary!Image
This was my first season with my crossbow. As I experienced the joys of carrying it around the woods, hefting it up my tree without taking out all the branches on the way, lowering it from my tree without ruining the scope, resting it on mono, bi, and tri-pods while in a ground blind and tree, maneuvering the limbs to clear windows and trees, etc. I came to the conclusion that, in some ways, a vertical is easier but I am deadlier with a crossbow. My strength level is not where it should be for a vertical bow.