Coyote hunters, I need some help.

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Pydpiper

Coyote hunters, I need some help.

Post by Pydpiper »

My local paper has been doing a article run on coyotes the past couple weeks, the original article is from a farmer who does dog drives for coyotes, he also identified himself as "the only coyote hunter around" then went to a fear tactic. His goal is to form a committee to organize drives, and derive his budget from our township, this particular guy also happens to be running for counsel. Part of his plan includes "live snaring" and relocation, relocating is legal, about as dumb of an idea as a guy could come up with, but legal. The "live snaring" part is very illegal, I spoke to the MNR this morning about this, they had submitted a request for all publications from the newspaper by the time I got there with my letter this morning.
My goal is to offer an alternative for farmers, I do wildlife control for a living, most of my coyote calls come from the MNR, or at least as a referral, I do not have the time to deal with every call.
I would like to compile list of hunters who would be willing to work with farmers for coyote control. I will be able to help each person gain access to land they wouldn't normally be able to access, usually for a one shot deal. I will be attending a counsel meeting on Wednesday to introduce an alternative when this comes up, 9:45 am.
If you are interested in having your name added to the list please email me with some information, the WMU you live and how far you are willing to travel. I will not share the submitted names/information with anyone.
pydpiper(at)gmail.com

Here is the letter that I wrote, it will be run in next weeks paper:

I have been following the letters and articles being submitted and thought I would share another perspective on our current situation.