crossbow scopes

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

JDUNLAP

crossbow scopes

Post by JDUNLAP »

Is it possible to use a rifle scope on a crossbow? Most crossbow scopes have little magnification, 4x or less. Most have small objectives 32mm or less. PSE's tac sereies crossbows offer a 3-944mm scope for their xbows.
PETA = People Eating Tasty Animals!
JDUNLAP

Re: crossbow scopes

Post by JDUNLAP »

Forgot to mention im new to the fourm. Just got on today, Im looking to start crossbow hunting this year.
foofoo

Post by foofoo »

welcome aboard! kinda new myself. theres no right or wrong. i prefer a bigger scope myself but youll find most crossbow scopes are on the small size and tend to be compact. rifle scopes are paralax for longer ranges but some scope companies can change them for you. if you got a bigger scope give it a try.
vixenmaster

Post by vixenmaster »

Yes you can use a rifle scope on a CB magnification past a 2x7 is certainly overkill unless yer eyes need that much help. I use a 1.5x6x42mm German recticle on my phoenix & it can be used on multiple yardages.
Half Bubble Off BD360

[email protected] 417-505-9315
Boo

Post by Boo »

Welcome to the forum!
Something in the order of 1.5 to 6 should do. Snapperdan used a Leupold and with some magnification adjustment the reticles and crosshairs coincided with hunting yardages. Rifle scopes work very well on crossbows. All "crossbow" scopes are just cheaper rifle scopes modified to fill the needs of crossbow shooters.
Some people just like stepping on rakes
snapperdan

Post by snapperdan »

I put on a Leupold 2x7 Shotgun scope from Dan miller and it workes great!!! On my equinox with a Boo string and big John blazing tiger arrowes .On the top of the heavy bottom post 40yds dead on. The center crosshair 30yds dead on. and the botton of the heavy top post 20yds dead on. Man when you cant spell .And cant type that was tuff to say!!!??? :oops: :D
exocet 200
equinox
ground pounder mounts