Drop of Broadhead VS Field Point

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

sumner4991

Re: Drop of Broadhead VS Field Point

Post by sumner4991 »

As long as your field tip is the same weight as the broadhead, then they should hit the same spot.

This has the makings of a very long thread. :)
I'd rather wear out than rust out.
Perception trumps intention.

2006 Exomax w/Agingcrossbower Custom Stock
20" Easton Powerbolts w/125gr Trophy Ridge Stricknines & 2"Blazers
Boo Custom Strings
2006 Vixen
awshucks

Post by awshucks »

All kinds of goofy things can happen when you screw a fixed blade bhead on, shoot them before hunting w/ them is the rule of thumb.

Springing for a bhead target is part of the game, imho. Or, shoot mechanicals, I've little to no experience w/ them but reportedly, they shoot to same poi as field tips.

Make or buy an arrow spinner, that will be your first clue on possible problems. Finish nails bent into an X will suffice, expoxied marbles together at each end of a board is the deluxe model. :D
"Eze 18:21"
wabi

Post by wabi »

sumner4991 wrote:As long as your field tip is the same weight as the broadhead, then they should hit the same spot.

Agree on both counts, but......................... :roll:

It sometimes happens the broadhead and field point shoot the same, but if often isn't the case.
A broadhead can "wind plane" which simply means it has surfaces exposed to the air that can steer it off course in flight.

I highly recommend testing broadheads on a target before hunting with them - you owe it to the game you're hunting to be respectful enough to do everything you can to assure a quick clean kill!