Do you use a "cure" when you make jerky??

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Horizontal Hunter

Do you use a "cure" when you make jerky??

Post by Horizontal Hunter »

I am new to making jerky as I just recently got a dehydrator. I have made 4 big batches using different recipes from Mary Bells book "Just Jerky" without using a "cure" or sodium nitrate. From what I understand 145 degrees for 10 minutes will kill salmonella, E. coli, and trichinosis and most other bacteria. I dry mine at 155 degrees. Made this way she says that the shelf life is 1 month and if you want to store it longer put it in the fridge or freezer. Realistically I am lucky if it lasts a week.

How many of you use or don't use the "cure" when you make jerky?

Have I just been lucky so far not using the cure??

Thanks,

Bob
Vegetarian: vejiˈte(ə)rēən/noun: old Indian word for lousy hunter.
Excalibur Exocet, GT Laser II, 2" Bhoning Blazers 125g NAP Spitfire
Shotnbeer

Re: Do you use a "cure" when you make jerky??

Post by Shotnbeer »

NESCO has original jerky spice and cure which is the perfect blend of seasonings to make great tasting jerky. no muss no fuss and tastes great. Tons of different flavors.
wabi

Post by wabi »

I always use a cure. Not worth chancing getting sick.
wabi
Big D

Post by Big D »

I NEVER use the cure I always throw it away. There is alot of research stating the health dangers possible cancer linked to cured foods high in sodium nitrite.
I use a oven with jerky gun and jerky racks from the company LEM works great. I use ground meat with spices and little water I also use a little canning salt instead of the cure. If you keep your oven between 165 and 200 you will be fine. My jerky is usally done in 3.5 hours and taste great. If you refrigerate it and eat it up in a few weeks in my opinion there is no need to put sodium nitrite in ure body. Good Luck Big D
evaughan

Post by evaughan »