great forum, new vortex

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

bcmuledeer

great forum, new vortex

Post by bcmuledeer »

I usually don,t become a member of a forum due to the ridiculous answers and spam. after checking out excaliburs xbow forum I was impressed. I noticed that there seems to be a great group of ethical and knowledgable hunters on this site. great work! I am new to bow hunting, not hunting, have shot many wild game animals in my lifetime. Needed to one up my hunting, so far greatly enjoying my new vortex. I have a few questions, I will be mainly hunting moose and mule deer, Living in B.C. canada our season can get pretty cold in hunting season(the rut) temps can run as cold as -15, will this effect the shooting ability of this bow and is there any extra maintenance I should be looking at due to the cold. Also not to open up a never ending debate, will a 1" broadhead prevent the animal from runnning to far after shot as a 11/2" broadhead. I will be hunting mainly open fields for deer, most shots will probably be 40yards plus. what would be a good combination to achieve this. thanks.
Life is good, treat with respect and honour!
Tired Rooster

Re: great forum, new vortex

Post by Tired Rooster »

Welcome and congratulations on the Vortex! Awesome bow! Don't really know that I would recommend the plus side of forty yards though for hunting. It's archery equipment, thus a SHORT range tool.
DEO VINDICE
wheelie

Post by wheelie »

First off, welcome to the forum. You will be fine in the cold weather. I have used mine in the minus 20's lots of times and all is fine. If trigger gets wet it could freeze as any trigger could. Alot keep there bows in the garage but I bring mine in the house to make sure it is dried out. As for 40 plus yards, that's getting way out there, personally I would not shoot that far, well not without absoutely perfect conditions. Lots and Lots of practise, if thats your plan.