Screw-in tree steps and me

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

ninepointer

Screw-in tree steps and me

Post by ninepointer »

OK, so I've been using screw-in steps for many years. Common name-brand steps such as Ameristep or Gorilla.

Here's the thing. It appears to me that that hunting magazine writers use a special (perhaps magical) brand of screw-in step that is unknown to me :roll:.

I say this because every article I've ever read on this topic (the most recent is in the current issue of Field & Stream) makes it sound like steps screw into wood as easy as into butter. Just screw your steps in by hand as you go up the tree, hoist up and strap on your stand, then hoist up your gun/bow and start hunting a few minutes later. Easy-peasy, nice 'n' easy!

I don't know what kind of soft trees these guys are hunting from, but in my area even screwing steps into a poplar is no easy feat. Certainly not something you would want to do without the aid of a cordless drill to make pilot holes. Most of the time I'm installing steps into ash or oak. Regardless of the tree, for me its process that involves lots of time, drilling, clanking, grunting & groaning; not something that I would do and then immediately start hunting.

Am I missing something about tree steps? Is there an easier way to install them? I read something about sharpening them, but I'm not sure what exactly was meant by that: sharpen the point? Any tips for steps would be appreciated.
Slick Trick 100 gr. Standard broadheads
Groundpounder Quiver Mount
ninepointer

Re: Screw-in tree steps and me

Post by ninepointer »

Just a thought; anybody try waxing the threads on their tree steps before screwing into pilot holes? I can't see this as being harmful to the tree, but I stand to be corrected.
Limbs and Sticks

Post by Limbs and Sticks »