unloading my excals

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

seabee401

unloading my excals

Post by seabee401 »

Does anyone un-cock their excals w/their rope cocking aid after hunting instead of discharging into a target bag? I have a Phoenix and Exocet 200. I am new to this but have used my stringing aid to replace, change, and adjust brace ht. several times. have watched the inst. video on this and am comfortable but careful.Was wondering if it is that much more difficult to un-cock from full draw weight w/cocking aid. And if its worth risking rather than discharging into a bag? I'm still a little nervous because I know the total weight and the length of rope cocking aid will both be greater than using stringing aid to replace or adjust strings.
Thanks in advance for everyones experience and knowledge here on this forum. I have learned alot about my new excals here.
Tom
Phoenix I, Phoenix II, Excocet 200, Vortex, Matrix 350Se, Matrix 330, Matrix 310
flightattendant100

Re: unloading my excals

Post by flightattendant100 »

I un-cock my Exomax w/the rope cocker. It is the only way I have ever done it. It is a little un-nerving the first time I guess but it is simple and easy.I dont think that you have any worries just follow the video.
ComfyBear

Post by ComfyBear »

I use the cocking aid all the time to uncock by crossbow.

If done correctly it is safe. The way I do it is, with my right foot in the stirrup, I start by attaching both hooks facing up, instead of down. Then using my right hand, I grasp the string of the cocking aid just below the handle on the right and pull up slowly until the left handle is against the hook on the left side of the crossbow. Then I continue to pull up on the right handle putting enough force to lift the string off the trigger latch. Then with my left hand I squeeze the trigger and slowly lower my right hand until the crossbow string comes to a full rest.
ComfyBear