Newbee crossbow selection

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

MarkMarine

Newbee crossbow selection

Post by MarkMarine »

For all those "I'm new to crossbow hunting and cannot decide what is the best Excalibur model to choose" - I dedicate this to you :)

The sales side of this site offers a generic depiction of the various models to include a ballistics table as well as "suggested game" each model is recommended to use. This can be helpful in deciding which model of Excalibur to select. However, it still does not answer the question as to which IS the best crossbow to buy.

Allow me to answer.

First of all, the variables in hunting are many - and I mean MANY! Yet, let's limit those by removing fact from fiction. ANY EXCALIBUR CROSSBOW will kill ANY GAME on the planet...it is only limited by:

SHOT PLACEMENT

Shot placement: It's possible to have a crossbow that shoots 1000 ft/sec and not kill a rabbit if your bolt does not hit a vital area. Yet, put that same bolt into the vitals of an elephant and it will (eventually) go down.

The further away you are from your target, the less penetration you will have, period. However, if you've shot a sharp broadhead into the sky just to see how far it will launch (admit it veterans - you know you have :twisted: ) then you will know that gravity will drive that bolt upon return into the ground - and that bolt is NOT traveling anywhere near as fast as it does when it leaves the rail of a crossbow.

Listen, in medieval times the crossbow was an effective weapon whose mere presence demoralized many an opponent whom believed (rightly or wrongly so) that it could pierce their armored defenses. Even the fastest of those antiquated crossbows loaded with primitive broadheads (or merely sharpened shaft ends) was nowhere near as fast as modern Excalibur's slowest hunting crossbow!