Fletching Comparison Testing

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Horizontal Hunter

Fletching Comparison Testing

Post by Horizontal Hunter »

I suffer from a incurable case of tinkeritis so when I saw the new Norway Xeon Fusion vanes I just had to try them out; but I also wanted to try some 5" feathers and some of Dorges Aerovanes and I normally shoot Bhonings 2" Blazer so.... I decided a fletching test was in order.

I have been shooting the Bhoning Blazer for many years and the crossbow (not necessarily the shooter) is capable of same hole accuracy at 40 yards off of a monopod with the Blazers When I do my part.

The equipment:
200lb Excalibur Exocet with a Varizone scope and a factory FFF string with served in cat whiskers.

424g 20" Gold Tip Laser II arrows with a brass insert up front and an aluminum nock at the rear. Tipped with 125g field point or 125g Slick Trick broadhead.

I build my own arrows so all were fletched with a 4 degree right offset. and the weight of my arrows is 424g +/- .5 grains. I actually take the time to shave down the rear insert to achieve this weight tolerance. I have always believed that consistency is the key to archery. The feathers are lighter and came in at 412.5g for an overall finished arrow weight.

The Blazers, Xeon Fusions, and Aerovanes all came in at 6g, give or take .5g, and the feathers were 3g. The Xeon fusions had the most variance in vane weight ranging from 6.0g to 7.0g.

All shots were taken at 40 yards from a sitting position using a monopod. I have an anti-cant level on my scope to ensure that my limbs stay parallel.

Yardage was verified with a Bushnell 450 range finder.

I only shot two broadhead tipped arrows at a time at the target as I really didn't want to tear up any more arrows than necessary. All arrows were spin tested when the broadheads were put on them.