Broadside learns a lesson.

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Broadside

Broadside learns a lesson.

Post by Broadside »

My father and I have been hunting on his friends property for a few years now. We have gone hunting together many times, and over the years I have harvested one deer with a shotgun, one with a muzzleloader, and one with an Exocet. Two bucks and a doe.

The following are the details of my very first independent deer hunting experience.

This Saturday was the first time the landowners permitted me to go hunting without my father on their property. I packed up my old Camry with the essentials - camo, knife, rope, headlamp, flashlight, crossbow, arrows, apples, and corn. The plan was to go sit in the stand for a few hours, and have some quiet time alone in the woods. Legal shooting light ended at 18:36, so I told my lady I'd be home by 20:00 so we could have a night on the town, and off I went.

When I neared the hunting property, there were eight to ten trucks parked on the side of the road by the neighbours place. I didn't think much of it, and went on my way to the stomping grounds. I set out some apples and corn 20 yards in front of the stand and climbed on up. I was all set by 16:15. A solid two hours before 18:36.

I found a comfortable position, made sure I had room to lift my bow, and relaxed. That's when the gunshots began. Not one or two shots; not five or ten - hundreds. This went on for about an hour - maybe two or three shots a minute for an hour. The shots sounded like they were a couple hundred yards away, and I thought the neighbours must have been having some sort of shooting contest. Then the shots got closer. Maybe 50 to 100 yards away - I could hear the sharp crack of close shots rather than the muffled bang of more distant shots.