Dissipator Bar or S5

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

ScottGott

Dissipator Bar or S5

Post by ScottGott »

Hello,

I am new to Crossbows and hunting in general. I just purchased the Axiom (it arrived 2 days ago) and have loved the target shooting I have done so far. I do plan to hunt eventually but I want to become proficient with the crossbow first.

I am looking to make the crossbow a bit quieter. My question is, which will make the crossbow quieter the dissipator bar or the S5? Or are there other devices that will help with out slowing it down to much?

This is a really great group of people on the forum, I have been able to find answers to almost all my other questions.

Thanks
Scott
DRAINO

Re: Dissipator Bar or S5

Post by DRAINO »

Welcome to the forum. It is the best place to learn & grow with crossbow hunting. I have both on my Equinox and it's really quit. Enjoy and be safe. Remember keep your "FINGERS" below the rail!!

Cheers
Hester0305

Post by Hester0305 »

I have the S5's on my xbow and dissipator bars I don't really know about these 2 quieting your xbow. The bars should take some of the vibrations out of the limbs quieting it some and the S5's should take some of the twang out of the string. From what I've read about the S5's is they will you when you dry fire your xbow from possibly braking the limbs because these will take the shock.

I recently served in some rubber catwiskers on my string and this has seemed to help take out more of the twang of the string than anything.

I also killed 2 deer this year with my xbow with nothing on it. They heard the noise I'm sure but they didn't react quick enough. One was at 35 yards and the other was at 28 yards on relaxed deer.

The noise issue will probably be a personal choice for you instead of what is the best thing to do.
Stryker Katana 360
Black Eagle Zombie Slayers
TruGlo Titanium X Hybrid Broadheads
Boo

Post by Boo »