New to Crossbows

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

BowmanPa

New to Crossbows

Post by BowmanPa »

Hi,
I am new to Crossbows and have been interested in them for a long time. Since here in Pennsylvania we are now aloud to use them I am interested in getting one. I have read allot about the Excalibur Crossbows and I like them due to not having allot of stuff to go wrong like on a compound crossbow.

My question is I like to hunt for a Treestand and would like a Crossbow that will work out of a stand. I really like the looks of the New Matrix but I cannot see me spending $1100+ on my first Crossbow.

What is some ideas on which bow would work for me.

Thank You,
BowmanPa
BowmanPa
maine hunter

Re: New to Crossbows

Post by maine hunter »

:D welcome!! they are all great bows. the best thing is to go to a store and shoot a few and see what fit's you the best. some have a traditional stock, and some have the thumb-hole stock. i have one of each,axiom,and the vortex. the axiom is a real good bow,175lb and comes with the whole package. the ibex is the same way,just in a thumb-hole stock. let us know what you pick,good luck.
355 matrix, big johns arrows- zombieslayers, g5 montecs, strikers. Vortex big johns arrows- zombieslayers g5 montecs 125. Lumenoks.
Normous

Post by Normous »

Welcome Bowman, I have hunted out of tree stands with all the Excalibur crossbows (except the Matrix) since 1992. They all perform very well from elevated stands.
I suggest watching the trading post area for some used Excaliburs in your price range. I would not hesitate buying a used one here. You can't go wrong with any of them.
EXCALFFLICTION 1991 ->>----------> 2024
Matrix 355
Huskemaw and Leupold crossbow optics.
Boo Strings
SWAT BH's and TOTA heads.
Teach Your Family How To Hunt So You Don't Have To Hunt For Your Family
Deerstalker

Post by Deerstalker »