New ibex owner here!

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

iBexSlayer

New ibex owner here!

Post by iBexSlayer »

[*]Takes a bow[*] Thank you kind folks of the Excalibur Forum.

Just bought it last week, and shot it for the first time yesterday. I have to say, I am very impressed with the ibex. My buddy brought over his Barnet Jackal Compound Cross bow, and we shot together at a Hurricane Bag.

So far, I just added the S5 System ( Don't ask me if I noticed the difference as I installed them before I even starting shooting the bow )

Firebolts with 150 grain heads I believe came with the SMF set up.

Now, on for some questions...

1. What is an ideal bolt / broad bolt setup for deer? I am new to all of this, and I don't know the technical terms for everything. I pretty much want a ready to fire setup.

2. The scope that comes with the ibex is ok, but I was wondering, are there scopes out there with built - in range finders? I am horrible at judging distance, I mean really bad. Or do I have to have a range finder mounted off to the side to judge the distance of the deer?

3. Are there any digital books out there I can purchase for my iPad that gives detailed instructions on how to field dress / gut various game?

I have never hunted in my life. I will be practicing with my friend until deer season starts with targets / 3D targets. All in all, I am trying to avoid a bad experience taking down my first kill. I am softie, meaning I don't have it in me to see animals being killed. However, I am 40 years old now, and honestly believe I can take a life of an animal in which I intend to eat. I won't kill for sport or fur, I just won't.

Thank you in advance for helpful insights and criticism :mrgreen:
kd8jgu

Re: New ibex owner here!

Post by kd8jgu »

Welcome and congrads
I had a Ibex used Firebolts with Boltcutters
Killed a lot of deer and hogs with that setup.
As far as scope with range finder
The price is why I have not considered one.