New 380 Matrix Blackout

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

FNARSCOT

New 380 Matrix Blackout

Post by FNARSCOT »

Just picked up a new 380 Blackout. Will be hunting deer /hogs/coyotes. I will be teaching my son (4th grader) to hunt with this from a Blind mostly. What do I need? I already put a harris bipod on. I like the Lumenok so they are on the list so is a arrow puller for practice.I would like a crank type cocker but $200 is a bit steep .I need a string changing rig open to ideas.What broad heads are best?I would like to do a trigger job after my son gets a little practice(he has shot weapons a lot so it won't take long) Would like a back up string so will be getting a custom and using the stock as backup open to options with reasons why to go with any certain type. I am new to crossbows but have hunted for 40 yrs and build my own Rifles and Pistols. I shoot a Alpine Compound but a back injury makes it tough and my son can shoot the crossbow.
Thanks Scot
P.s. Would be nice if Excalibur included a arrow puller and string change tool in the box with a $1100 Crossbow just sayin
Ride Hard ,Shoot Straight, Tell the Truth
Matrix 380 Blackout
Xcaliber Custom String
FNARSCOT

Re: New 380 Matrix Blackout

Post by FNARSCOT »

Thanks .I hear you about the practice. I am building a new backstop in the yard to stop these bolts(my old one is shot out) With my compound I shot at least 1 time a day(before the injury) Problem will be getting my son to give me a turn!! Please pm me a price on 2 of your Flemish Strings. What is my best choice for a string changing rig?
Matrix 380 Blackout
Xcaliber Custom String

Post by newbie »

call Danny Miller 740-483-2312. he sells a good stringing aid. He also makes the strings for Excalibur. I also read he makes a flemish now thats a bit faster then the factory endlessloop. Plus hes chock full of knowledge of all things Excalibur and great guy to talk to.
Kandy-a.k.a Raid
Midge- a.k.a Micro 335