Rangefinder Dilema

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

schrona1

Rangefinder Dilema

Post by schrona1 »

Thinking about a new rangefinder; Who makes the best bang for your buck finder? Looking at the Leupold RX1000TBR model, Anyone have suggestions?
Alahunter

Re: Rangefinder Dilema

Post by Alahunter »

I bought the Nikon rifle Hunter 550 and have been impressed with it. This is my first year hunting with it and it has done well. Was able to find it on eBay for cheaper than anywhere else. It gives a quick reading and is very reliable. However the Leopold 1000 will probably be a better product. I just did not want to spend that much right after buying the matrix 380. I was able to get the Nikon rifle Hunter 550 for less than $200.
NFH

Post by NFH »

I would say if you can swing the Leupold go for it. I have a Leupold RX 600 that has been great for several years now. This year I decided to get a second range finder; one with a display you can read when its dawn/dusk. I started looking at the Leupold RX 1000 but unfortunately I got cheap and bought a Nikon Rifle hunter 1000 sight unseen based on good reviews. Unlike the Leupold, the Nikon's display cannot be adjusted for brightness. When its dark enough to need the red display you hit the range button and the entire screen washes out red. Yes you can read the range but you can no longer see your target or anything until the display times out. I plan on trying to return the Nikon and exchange for the leupold.
Micro 335 Nightmare
Vortex XBR
Trigger Tech 2 stage
Flemish strings
Doc Miller RBBBs
SSA Spynal Tapps
SlickTricks
Magnus Black Hornet Ser-Razor
Wisc Mac

Post by Wisc Mac »