To much arrow weight?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Rkornrumpf

To much arrow weight?

Post by Rkornrumpf »

I recently purchased an Axiom which came with 20" Firebolts and 150 gr field tips. I had some unsed rage broadheads(125 gr) that I wanted to use so ive dialed it in with 125 grs. Using the 125 gr it gave me and FOC in the 9% area and then I added Lumenoks. I wanted to get the FOC closer to the 15-20% range so i changed out the aluminum inserts for 110gr brass inserts. The FOC is now in the 18% range and grouping is great, but the arrow weight is roughly 491 gr. In doing some reseach I notice that seems to be a bit higher than most. This is the first time i have ever tried messing with weight and FOC and am wondering if I went to heavy. I have no experience in this area and am just looking for opinions and input. Thanks.
Significent

Re: To much arrow weight?

Post by Significent »

Rkornrumpf, I'm not an authority on the subject, but here are my two cents after hanging around the forum for a while:

I don't believe there is such a thing as "too much arrow weight". In general, the heavier the arrow, the better the energy transference from the bow. Heavier arrows are also easier on the limbs and quieter because of less limb oscillation/vibration. The trade-off is arrow speed. Lighter arrows shoot faster and, consequently flatter. Flatter is better because errors in yardage estimates are less significant.