Blood Trail

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Phil W

Blood Trail

Post by Phil W »

I just bought a new Matrix 355 and still waiting on a few accessories to come in the mail. I haven't bought hunting broad heads yet, still trying to make a decision. Let me say that I have been harvesting Whitetails with high powered rifles for 35+ years. Most of the deer I have shot with a 7mm Mag through the years have dropped in their tracks or only gone 20 yards or so. I have never bow hunted, and said I would never do it because I can't stand to shoot a deer and it run off. Well, here I am 51 yrs old and bought a cross bow. I have about 1500 acres of land available to hunt on and lots of deer. There is no doubt in my mind I will have opportunities this fall to harvest a few bucks with my crossbow. But I am a little nervous about deer running off shot with arrows, bolts in my case. Practically all the bow hunting videos I have watched, the deer run off after the shot like there is nothing wrong with them. I will be hunting some thick woods here in SC since crossbow hunting range is 50 yards or less and a deer running off 200 or 300 yards can be very difficult to find. So my question is, what broad heads have you guys used with your Excaliburs that left the biggest blood trails? I want to buy the 150 gr Boltcutters, but I have read they don't leave good blood trails. Also, my Matrix 355 came with Diablo bolts and 150 gr field points. I don't see many 150 gr broad heads in the catalogs for crossbows. If I go with a 125 gr broad head, should I get some 125 gr field points to sight in/practice with? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
BrotherRon

Re: Blood Trail

Post by BrotherRon »

Excaliburs are deadly accurate, and shot placement is the most important part of archery. A good hit in the heart (or kill zone) and the deer wont go much more than 40 yards.
I prefer Black Eagle arrows myself.
Arrow choice depends a lot on what crossbow you have.