Newbie with questions

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Fusion525

Newbie with questions

Post by Fusion525 »

Hello, I am new to the crossbow scene. After much research I purchased the Matrix Grizzly which I thought was the best choice due to the 200lb draw weight limit here in NY. I have read and learned quite a bit on this forum but one subject I am not sure about is brace height. What is brace height?, how is it measured?, is it set at the factory and how often does it need to be checked?.
Sorry in advance if this is a stupid question.
vixenmaster

Re: Newbie with questions

Post by vixenmaster »

Brace ht. is the distance between the front of yer string n the Riser joint line. Grizzly manual should tell you exacting how fer to keep the string off the Riser joint. You always need to keep n eye on the Brace ht. You can use a tape measure or a ruler/scale to measure wid
Half Bubble Off BD360

[email protected] 417-505-9315
xcaliber

Post by xcaliber »

Welcome to the forum, and Excalibur as well. You made a great choice. Get a stringing tool, and watch the videos here. The brace height minimum should be marked on the rail, but if not, someone here will get that to you. I think someone said the sweet spot was about 1" from the split between the rail, and riser. Don't shoot it until you can adjust the brace height, and have an idea where it should be.
It’s not the way you rock, it’s the way that you roll!
BrotherRon

Post by BrotherRon »

Good info given here.
I have the rubber bumpers (string stops) on both my crossbows and keep my string 3/16" off the bumpers. I also put a small mark on the side of the rail with a magic marker so that I can easily check to see if it is still in the sweet spot.

Ron
Matrix 310 ~ Hawke XB30 Pro SR ~ TT~Plano 36" All Weather Tactical Hard Case.
Danny Miller Top Mount Quiver.
Strings by Boo ~ nchunterkw ~ 8ptbuk
Jeremiah 29:13 :thumbup:
canoe13

Post by canoe13 »