sighting in new broadheads - and short intro

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

benjamin.l.richard

sighting in new broadheads - and short intro

Post by benjamin.l.richard »

Hey Yall, my name is Ben and I live in south central GA. My buddy graciously gave me an Excalibur Axiom last year on long term lone....
Im brand new to bow hunting and brand new to crossbows and so far I love it....I had some issues last year with the broadheads he gave me and the arrows became slightly worn out do to me having issues with that......so, for this year I wanted to start out fresh with new arrows and broadheads.....

Because im brand new at all this I wanted to start out with all excal stuff so I bought the 150g boltcutters paired with the carbon fireball bolts......

I got it hitting dead on at 20yards with minimum effort but when I backed up to 30 I started hiting about 4-5 inches low.....I assumed since I was usuing 100% excal stuff including the scope it would all line up....

I was thinking to maybe just set my zero at the thirty yard mark and go from there......I am getting super tight groups....

thanks for any info!
Last edited by benjamin.l.richard on Tue Sep 29, 2015 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kd8jgu

Re: sighting in new bradheads - and short intro

Post by kd8jgu »

If I remember right on the wifes Vixen had about same thing so set the 20 about 2 inches high
May my aim be true and my arrow fly straight

Micro 335 (Porky's Piglet)
Stock string
Quill
125 grain ACTs/Boltcutters

MagAir
Stock string
Quill
125 ACTs/Boltcutters
paulaboutform

Post by paulaboutform »

Hi and welcome to the forum. :D First off, it'd be nice if you went back to your profile and finished filling in where you're from. I know you've told us in your introduction but as you post questions it may be easier for someone to help you out.