Shotgun for deer

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

Shakky

Shotgun for deer

Post by Shakky »

I was thinking of getting a shotgun for deer hunting. I have very little experience with shotguns. My concern is the trigger. Do any of the deer shotguns have adjustable triggers. What would my max. shot be around 100 yards? I was thinking of a 20 gauge combo that I could use for upland game. In rifles I like Remington, are their shotguns any good?
Red Label

Post by Red Label »

Shakky - you'd be hard pressed to beat a Remington 870 pumpgun for value and reliability. You can buy extra barrels and have a fully rifled slug barrel for deer and a nice 26" Remchoke barrel for upland stuff. I've had a few over the years and have never had one let me down yet.

With modern sabot slugs, scopes and rifled barrels I think guys are getting 150+ yard useable range out of their slug guns now.

There's lot's of choices, from inexpensive "Express" versions, through to the dressier walnut stocked "Wingmasters" to "Special purpose camo" models...they are all good choices based on what your budget will permit.

IMHO the 20 gauge is a great upland gun, but you are much better served with a 12 gauge on deer, 3" magnum or 3.5" supermagnum. (Better variety of available slug ammo, & more powerful loads.)

Mike
Mighty Mooser

Post by Mighty Mooser »

I have a Remington 870 12 gauge with a rifled choke tube with scope , I use sabot slugs. Last year I was confident to 120 yards target practicing with no drop. I had a deer 15 minutes before dark at 150 yards, while I knew it was a long shot, I aimed 6inches high and the bullet took out the heart and the deer took 1 step and the chin hit the ground before I could rechamber.. I would stay away from a 20 guage though, as you will be giving up a lot of power and yardage...
When you whack them you better stack them!!!
Brampton Mike

Post by Brampton Mike »