some strings more accurate than others?

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

bobcat

some strings more accurate than others?

Post by bobcat »

my micro 335 doesnt seem to be the tack driver it was last season. i has a string reserved and it seems like since then i have had to adjust the brace alot but now it has stretched back out but my groups arent as good as last year. i tightened everything before i started shooting. i bought a box of new quills which are what i was shooting but im not putting them right on top of each other like i did last year or in the spring.

i have another string that was on it before and shot well i might try that or maybe my new box of quills are as good as the ones i was shooting last year. i will also try shooting the old arrows and see if it makes a difference. it is shooting plenty good to kill deer out to 40 but i know it has shot better and i dont want this to be the start of a problem that gets bad when im ulling the trigger on game.
racking up points

Re: some strings more accurate than others?

Post by racking up points »

It's tough to help you because you aren't indicating how much the groups have opened up. What kind of grouping are you getting at 40y? Even with those subpar arrows, I'd think sub 2" groups at that distance should be achievable. Are you using a rest and sighting in with the same arrow?

I seriously doubt it's your string - I have had some quieter and faster than others, but they all shoot to just about the same POI. I'm more apt to point the finger at the arrows or the shooter. Have you tried to index the arrows, (rotating the cock feather), until you get that arrow to hit POA?
Leupold Optics
Boo Custom Strings
Black Eagle Arrows
Ti64.com Fastener Kits
vixenmaster

Post by vixenmaster »

Usually the string doesn't cause accuracy problems. If'en the servin gets spread out or deeply grooved at the claws. Or the servin n string dia. is too thin those things can play hob on accuracy