Yet another broad head "I need opinion" post

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

VTbowman

Yet another broad head "I need opinion" post

Post by VTbowman »

So ive been shooting archery for 30+ Years and ever since mechanicals came out I was all over them. Love them. So. No bashing of one style over the other.
Im interested in those who hunt with mechs out of a crossbow and what you use, your pluses n minuses.
Im sure a fixed blade guy will chime in. They always do. Thats cool too.
Im new to crossbows so I can bare to hear those opinions as well.
Thanks in advance.
Micro 335 Real Tree Xtra with Air Brakes.
8ptCustom String in Camo
Tac Zone
BE Zombies Slayers .001
paulaboutform

Re: Yet another broad head "I need opinion" post

Post by paulaboutform »

Well, from what I've read here and mechanical fans I know, there are two standouts. The NAP FOC'S and the NAP Spitfires. I'm one of the guys that prefers the fixed broadheads. Something to consider though, what is the largest cutting surface of the mechanicals? The FOC is a HUGE two blade with, I believe, 3 1/2" of cutting surface. The Spitfire, again I believe, is a big three blade with about 3 3/4" of cutting surface. Now consider the Toxic Broadheads. I know they work like gangbusters and are extremely accurate out to 70yards (as far as I've tested them). They're a fixed, replaceable blades broadhead with 5" of cutting surface actually 'coring' out a wound channel creating massive hemorrhaging. Just food for thought. I did pick up a couple packs of 125gr Spitfires on sale however just because of the rave reviews and great results guys here have gotten. :wink:

Paul
You're only paranoid if everyone isn't out to get you.
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.
My enemy's friend is also my enemy.
VTbowman

Post by VTbowman »

I went crazy over the design of those Toxics. Never could get them to fly true. Sold them. Lol