Arrow question

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

sliceman

Arrow question

Post by sliceman »

'm new to the forum but a long time Excalibur user( Wolverine/Exocet/ now Matrix 380). I've always used Excalibur's arrows both aluminum and then carbon. I notice that many members here use alternate arrows (e.g. BEE's/zombie slayers/ spinal tapps). My question is: for what reason? Is it the increased FOC allowing a greater choice of broadheads, or accuracy, or both?
sgtkersh

Re: Arrow question

Post by sgtkersh »

I'm new to this, but I have done tons of research and it seems that most gravitate to different arrows for exactly that. A bigger selection of broadheads and accuracy. The stock arrows matched with the recommended Boltcutter broadhead already has sufficient FOC. I think most newer Matrix models use 18" Diablos stock, well mine does at least, and with the Boltcutter, a 150 gr broadhead, the total weight is about 400 gr.

I went ahead and bought a dozen BEE from Wyvern and have to admit they are very nice arrows. I paired them with NAP Spitfires and the total weight is about 409 gr. I shoot them with my Diablos and both appear to be equally accurate to me. They are surprisingly close in POI as well. I plan on carring both in my quiver this fall. 2-3 with Spitfires for whitetail and 1-2 Diablos with the Boltcutter for turkeys.
Matrix 350SE, Hawke XB1 SR, R.E.D.S., Guardian ADF, Diablos with 150 gr Boltcutters, Black Eagle Exectutioners with 125 gr NAP Spitfires, JBK String
racking up points

Post by racking up points »