weight and flight

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

doe hunter

weight and flight

Post by doe hunter »

Hello; got a Bulldog 330 for Christmas and love it, and getting stuff lined out. bought some BEE and shooting 125 grain field points and Slick trick 125 grain broadheads. Can hit a go cup coffee lid 4 out of 4 at 45 yards. Would like to try lighted nocks. My question is if I went to a lighted nock would I need to go up in front weight? Now I know I will get replies back that will say buy some and see, and I really Do Not Have a problem with that and I would love too. but, I am a disabled vet. and like so many of us today living on a fixed income just do not have the money to buy 3 lighted nocks $30 plus then have to buy different broadheads $35 or more. Thanks and all have a safe 2018
SEW

Re: weight and flight

Post by SEW »

To give a good answer, more things need to be known: length arrow, vanes used ( & wt if not SK300s or Blazers since the weights are well known) and configuration, weight of current and proposed nock, insert weight as all these all factor into the final foc.

Also, maximum range desired . Foc becomes much more critical as range increases.
doe hunter

Post by doe hunter »

ok my bad BEE are 18 and 2 inch blazer and Lumenoks flat I think they are 28 grains no farther than 45 yards.
paulaboutform

Post by paulaboutform »

Using 125gr points you'll be fine with Luminoks.

Paul
You're only paranoid if everyone isn't out to get you.
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.
My enemy's friend is also my enemy.
doe hunter

Post by doe hunter »

Thanks Paul
nchunterkw

Post by nchunterkw »

what weight insert?

Some thoughts.......... lighted nocks are cool to see fly, but if you are hunting on the ground you can still lose arrows even with the nocks. Then you just lost more $$. If hunting from a tree, then no need as the arrow will be stuck in the ground.
Keith