New to this crossbow stuff, questions........

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

The Butcher

New to this crossbow stuff, questions........

Post by The Butcher »

I am new to this crossbow hunting, though I've been bow hunting for 30 years. I guess I have been fairly sucessful, I've taken 25 deer with a hand bow, and only one with a crossbow. A shoulder injury, has forced me to use a crossbow, and the state issued me a handi-cap permit this year. I borrowed a Horton hunter, from my father-in-law, and did manage to shoot a doe at about 12 yds. I have been looking at the Excalibur bows, and have even picked up a few, and left fingerprints all over the exomax at the cabela's. I was wondering about the leaving the bow cocked question, in the forum. I used to leave my recurve strung all season, and did not notice a decrease in poundage. I have also left the Horton in the cocked position, from sun up to sun down, in the stand, and when I shot the bolt at the end of the day, it seemed to go in the spot. Are the recurve limbs different? I really like the feel of the excalibur, and have read nothing but good reports. I do not however want to have to let the bow down every few hours though. Just asking opinions, I have limited experience with the crossbows, because of our state regulations. They have just recently permitted the use of crossbows in our primative season, and for handicapped people. Just need a lot of information before I buy. Thanks Butcher
If you always tell the truth, there is nothing to remember. Mark Twain
Tigerpaw

Post by Tigerpaw »

When I do an all day hunt I leave my exomax cocked from sun up to sun down. As of yet I wave not noticed a change in were my bolt goes at the end of a day.
huntin1

Post by huntin1 »

I too leave my exomag cocked all day long when hunting and have not had any problems.

huntin1
"Never corner something meaner than you"

re

Post by Guest »