Exomax limb question

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

The Butcher

Exomax limb question

Post by The Butcher »

Got a new Exomax, and I noticed after stringing, that the center part of the center serving was not centered even on each side of the arrow trough. 1 and 1/4 inch on one side, 1 and one half on the other. So I then measured from the inside edge of the arrow trough on the right side to the limb tip, and did the same on the other side, and ended up 1/8" different. Is this normal? Could this have happened because I twisted the string unevenly to get the brace height right? I just wondered if it effects the power stroke, or is the amount it is uneven so slight, it does not matter. I have not shot the bow yet, but I'm new to this crossbow stuff. I've settled on 2216's, and hope that is a good choice. I'm trying to get ready for the late season. Any help or advice would be appreciated. Butcher
If you always tell the truth, there is nothing to remember. Mark Twain
Jim C

Post by Jim C »

assuming you COCKED The bow correctly no big deal. better to measure the tiller though-the distance between the limb and the string at a consistent point-if there is a difference you might have a problem though I have never seen it with an excalibur/

shoot it a few times and see if the serving trues up-sometimes twisting it will cause VERY Slight changes but if the tiller is even (ie the same reading for each limb when taken from symetrical positions) a slightly off center serving means nothing
STEELWORKER

Post by STEELWORKER »

i had this off center serving problem with 2 strings on my exomag. i was new to the bow and didn't know better. My bow chewed up strings fast when the servings were out of center...so to me IT is a big deal. when i put a new string on the bow i make sure i START OUT DEAD CENTER WITH THE DECK, then while the string breaks in i adjust accordingly. just my opinion------STEEL
Digger

Post by Digger »