Coffee shop deer talk (old wive's...err...hunter tales?)

Crossbow Hunting

Moderator: Excalibur Marketing Dude

TAC

Coffee shop deer talk (old wive's...err...hunter tales?)

Post by TAC »

This afternoon (since it was raining and I couldn't go out hunting at that time) I was in a local coffee shop and listening to some guys talk about hunting.

It was mostly gun hunting talk but one guy tried to keep an archery discussion going.

He was saying a few things that I was leery about. The other guys, who all seemed to dismiss archery hunting, thought the guy was pulling their legs, etc.

Being a newbie, I didn't pipe up, but the guy's comments left me wondering...

1) A buck will snort multiple times as he runs away after being hit by an arrow. Since you're close, you can hear it. (I'm assuming maybe if it's a lung shot as he's losing breath?)

2) A buck won't bound away as per the norm, but will kind of kick, ala a rodeo horse (seems to me I've read this) when hit by an arrow.

3) 20% of deer hit by an arrow aren't recovered. (Seems kinda high to me and it has obvious conditions attached to that statement).

Thanks.
darkhollowarcher nli

re

Post by darkhollowarcher nli »

#1 I dont think i ever heard one snort after the arrow hit him
#2 I have seen them kick like a bucking horse after they are hit,but i have also seen them take a few short jumps and stop and look back,
#3 20 % seems high for lost game, if my log book is correct i am at less than 1% and that is still to high.we owe it to our sport and the game we hunt to take only high % shots!!!
BOB
Hi5

Post by Hi5 »

TAC

Deer snort when they are alarmed. That applies to both sexes. They wouldn't necessarily do that when hit by an arrow.